Français   Deutsche   Español   Русский   官話

Editorial Address:
Journal of Speculative Philosophy
USB-1, Suite C
820 North University Drive
University Park, PA 16802
Fax:  814-863-1408

The Journal of Speculative Philosophy publishes systematic and interpretive essays about basic philosophical questions. Scholars examine the constructive interaction between Continental and American philosophy, as well as novel developments in the ideas and theories of past philosophers that have relevance for contemporary thinkers. The journal also features discussions of art, religion, and literature that are not strictly or narrowly philosophical. Book reviews are included in each issue.

Vincent M.Colapietro
, Co-Editor of the journal, is Liberal Arts Research Professor of Philosophy at Penn State University.  Past President of the Charles S. Peirce Society, his publications include:  Peirce's Approach to the Self: A Semiotic Perspective on Human Subjectivity (SUNY Press, 1989) and Fateful Shapes of Human Freedom: John William Miller & the Crises of Modernity (Vanderbilt University Press, 2003).

John J. Stuhr
, Co-Editor and Managing Editor of the journal, is Arts and Sciences Distinguished Professor of Philosophy and American Studies and Chair of the Department of Philosophy at Emory University.  Director of the American Philosophies Forum and past President of the Society for the Advancement of American Philosophy, he is the founding editor of the American Philosophy book series at Indiana University Press and co-editor (with Charles E. Scott) of the American and European Philosophy book series at Penn State University Press.  His publications include Pragmatism, Postmodernism, and the Future of Philosophy (Routledge, 2003) and Genealogical Pragmatism:  Philosophy, Experience, Community (SUNY Press, 1997).

Michael Sullivan, Book Review Editor of the journal, is Associate Professor of Philosophy at Emory University.  Having received his Ph.D. from Vanderbilt University and his J.D. from Yale University, he is the author of Legal Pragmatism:  Community, Rights, and Democracy (Indiana University Press, 2007).

Mark Fagiano, Editorial Assistant of the journal, is an advanced Ph.D. student in philosophy at Emory University. He is finishing his dissertation on race, science, and philosophy.

Editorial Advisory Board:
Karl-Otto Apel, Johann Wolfgang Goethe Universität
Richard Bernstein, New School University
Miguel de Beistegui, University of Warwick
James Campbell, University of Toledo
William J. Gavin, University of Southern Maine
Russell Goodman, University of New Mexico
Peter Hare, State University of New York at Buffalo
Leonard Harris, Purdue University
Carl R. Hausman, The Pennsylvania State University
Glen Helman, Wabash College
Mary Hesse, University of Cambridge
David Hildebrand, University of Colorado, Denver
Christopher Hookway, University of Sheffield
Mark Johnson, University of Oregon
John Lachs, Vanderbilt University
Christopher Long, The Pennsylvania State University
John Lysaker, University of Oregon
Thelma Z. Lavine, George Mason University
John J. McDermot, Texas A&M University
Glelnn McGee, University of Pennsylvania
Erin McKenna, Pacific Lutheran University
Klaus Oehler, Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Universität Hannover
Kelly Oliver, Vanderbilt University
Lucius Outlaw, Vanderbilt University
Helmut Pape, Universität Hannover
Gregory Pappas, Texas A&M University
Evelyn B. Pluhar, The Pennsylvania State University
Nikita Pokrovsky, Moscow State University
Richard S. Robin, Mount Holyoke College
Sandra Rosenthal, Loyola University, New Orleans
Naoko Saito, University of Tokyo
Charles E. Scott, Vanderbilt University
Charlene Haddock Seigfried, Purdue University
Beth J. Singer, Brooklyn College
John E. Smith, Yale University
Timothy Sprigge, University of Edinburgh
Kenneth W. Stikkers, Southern Illinois University
Ellen Suckiel, University of California, Santa Cruz
Richard Shusterman, Florida Atlantic University
Shannon Sullivan, The Pennsylvania State University
Sun Youzhong, Beijing Foreign Studies University
Emil Visnovsky, Slovak Academy of Sciences (MIKE)

Copyright Journal of Speculative Philosophy 2007