Student Directory

Owen Alldritt
owen.alldritt@emory.edu
MA Philosophy, The New School for Social Research, 2014
BA Philosophy, Carleton College, 2012
Research Interests: German Idealism, Post-Structuralism, Nihilism
View Profile

Rachel Bath
rachel.lee.barbara.bath@emory.edu
MA Theory & Criticism, University of Western Ontario, 2016
BA Philosophy and Women’s Studies, University of Western Ontario, 2014
Research Interests: Phenomenology, Critical Phenomenology, Feminist Philosophies, Existentialism; Embodiment, Temporality, Emotion
View Profile


Joe Benavides
joseph.santiago.benavides@emory.edu
MA Philosophy, SUNY Stony Brook, 2012
BFA Cinematography, University of North Carolina School of the Arts
Research Interests: Marxism, historical materialism, hope, utopianism, Hegel, aesthetics (esp. photography)
View Profile

Kevin Brennan
kevin.brennan@emory.edu
MA Philosophy, Boston College, 2010
BA Philosophy, Saint Anselm College, 2002
Research Interests: Environmental philosophy, Kant, Schelling, Merleau-Ponty
View Profile

Benjamin Brewer
benjamin.brewer@emory.edu
MA Philosophy, University of Oregon, 2015
BA Philosophy and English Literature, Pacific University, 2013
Research Interests: 20th c. Continental, Medieval (Christian and Islamic), German Idealism, Descartes; Questions of history and historicity, materiality, theology, and representation
View Profile

Shouta Brown
shouta.brown@emory.edu
View Profile


Jimmy Callahan
james.callahan@emory.edu
BA Philosophy, DePaul University, 2014
Research Interests: Romanticism, Idealism, Philosophy of Science
View Profile
 
Michael Chiddo
michael.chiddo@emory.edu
MA Philosophy, Stony Brook University, 2015
BA Philosophy and Political Science, Hunter College, 2008
Research Interests: Social and Political Philosophy, Ethics, 20th Century Continental Philosophy, Nietzsche
View Profile
 
Andrew Culbreth
andrew.james.culbreth@emory.edu
BA Philosophy, Vassar College, 2012
Research Interests: Ancient Greek thought and literature, moral philosophy, philosophy of science and the limits of philosophy
View Profile
 
Jordan Daniels
jordan.leah.daniels@emory.edu
MA Philosophy, New School for Social Research, 2012
BA Philosophy, Eugene Lang College The New School for Liberal Arts, 2009
Research Interests: Aesthetics, German Idealism, Critical Theory
View Profile
 
Katherine Davies
katherine.davies@emory.edu
BA Philosophy, Whitman College 2010
MA Philosophy, Emory University, 2015
Research Interests: 19th and 20th Century Continental Philosophy, Phenomenology, Aesthetics, Ethics
View Profile 

Benjamin Davis
benjamin.palmer.davis@emory.edu
BA Philosophy, University of North Dakota, 2016
BA International Studies, University of North Dakota, 2016
Research Interests: De-colonial philosophy, Pragmatism, Liberation Theology, Critical Theory, Simone Weil
View Profile

Sarah Fayad
sarah.fayad@emory.edu
MA Philosophy, University of New Mexico, 2015
BA Philosophy, University of New Mexico, 2011
BA English, University of New Mexico, 2011
Research Interests: Continental Philosophy, Phenomenology, Philosophy of Embodiment, Philosophy of Emotion, Social-Political Philosophy
View Profile 

David Ferris
david.ferris@emory.edu
MA Humanities and Social Thought, New York University, 2013
BA Social Studies, Harvard University, 2006
Research Interests: Social-Political Philosophy, American Pragmatism, law, epistemic humility and the democratic ethos
View Profile 


Taina Figueroa
tfiguer@emory.edu
BA Philosophy, Trinity College, 2012
Research Interests: Critical Philosophy of Race, Latin@ Philosophy, Latin American Philosophy, Phenomenology, Existentialism
View Profile
 
Catherine Fullarton
cfullar@emory.edu
MA Philosophy, Ryerson University, 2013
BA Contemporary Studies & History, University of King’s College, 2010
Research Interests: Phenomenology, Temporality, Intersubjectivity, History of Philosophy
View Profile
 
Grace Goh
shuang.goh@emory.edu
BA Philosophy, DePaul University, 2015
BA Psychology, DePaul University, 2015
Research Interests: Metaphysics, Epistemology, Asian Philosophy, Plato, Kant, Heidegger, Levinas, Bergson, Freud; the relation between time/temporality and the self/subjectivity.
View Profile
 
Katherine Howard
k.b.howard@emory.edu
BA Philosophy with Honors, Vassar College, 2012
Research Interests:
Social-Political Philosophy, Feminist Theory, democratic theory, human rights, Hannah Arendt
View Profile
 

Rylie Johnson
ryan.johnson2@emory.edu
View Profile

B. Tamsin Kimoto
bryan.kimoto@emory.edu
View Profile

Yuchen Liang
yuchen.liang@emory.edu
View Profile

Lilyana Levy
lilyana.levy@emory.edu
BA with Honors, Philosophy, Vassar College 2011
Research Interests: Feminist philosophy, ethics, philosophy of medicine, bioethics, affect theory, disability studies.
View Profile
 
Tony Leyh
tony.leyh@emory.edu
BA Philosophy (Italian minor), Eckerd College, 2013
Research Interests: Ancient Philosophy (esp. Plato and Aristotle), Ethics, History of Philosophy
View Profile
 
Jorge Lizarzaburu
jlizarz@emory.edu
MA Philosophy, University of New Mexico, 2016
MA Communication, University of Colorado Boulder, 2012
BA Journalism, USFQ (Quito, Ecuador), 2010
Research Interests: Social and Political philosophy, Nineteenth and Twentieth Century Continental Philosophy (esp. Hegel, Marx, and Nietzsche, Deleuze and Foucault), neuroscience.
View Profile
 
Margaret Matthews
m.l.matthews@emory.edu
BA Liberal Arts, St. John’s College MD, 2014
Research Interests: Montaigne, Early Modern Philosophy, History of Philosophy
View Profile
 
Karen McCarthy
Karen.L.McCarthy@emory.edu
MA Philosophy, University of Toledo, Toledo, 2009               
BA Philosophy (Women’s Studies minor), Eastern Michigan University, Ypsilanti, 2006
Research Interests: Hannah Arendt’s Political and Phenomenological Philosophy, 20th Century Phenomenology, Feminism and Social Justice, Digital Scholarship and Pedagogy
View Profile
 
Christopher Merwin
christopher.merwin@emory.edu
MA Philosophy, New School for Social Research, 2014
BA Philosophy, Religious Studies (Classics minor), Boston University, 2000
Research Interests:
Metaphysics (esp. Time), Phenomenology (esp. Heidegger), Ancient Philosophy, Modern Philosophy (esp. Kant), Philosophy of Science
View Profile
 
Eric Morelli
emorell@emory.edu
MA Philosophy, Emory University, 2009
BA Philosophy, Fordham University, 2005
Research Interests: Plato, Husserl, Lonergan, Cognitional Theory, Methodology, and the History of Philosophy
View Profile
 
Mukasa Mubirumusoke
mukasa.mubirumusoke@emory.edu
MA Philosophy, Boston College 2011
BA Philosophy, Occidental College 2009
Research Interests: Africana Philosophy, Ethics, Political Philosophy, 19th & 20th Century Continental Philosophy
View Profile
 
Joevenn Neo
joevenn.neo@emory.edu
BA Philosophy, DePaul University, 2015
Research Interests: Non-Philosophical Aesthetics and Practices, Indifference in Ancient Chinese Philosophy, Shamanic Receptivity in Medieval Philosophy
View Profile
 
Lucilla Pan
lucilla.pan@emory.edu
BA Philosophy, Boston College, 2014
Research Interests: 19th Century Philosophy, Ethics, Philosophy of Religion
View Profile
 
Roshni Patel
rnpate3@emory.edu
BA Philosophy, History from the University of Texas at Austin, 2009
Research Interests: Heidegger, Indian Buddhist Philosophy, Response Ethics, 20th Century Continental Philosophy
View Profile
 
Belen Pueyo-Ibanez
belen.pueyo.ibanez@emory.edu
MA Philosophy, The New School for Social Research
Graduate Diploma in Contemporary Art History, Goldsmiths University of London
BA Journalism, Universitat Pompeu Fabra
BA Music (Specialization in Violin Performance), Escola Superior de Música de Catalunya
Research Interests: Pragmatism, Ethics, Aesthetics
View Profile
 
Omar Quinonez
omar.quinonez@emory.edu
BA Philosophy, University of Colorado Denver, 2012
BA History, University of Colorado Denver, 2012
BA Political Science, University of Colorado Denver, 2012
Research Interests: German idealism, esp. Hegel and Schelling, Marx and marxism, critical theory, social theory, 19th century philosophy, 20th century continental philosophy.
View Profile
 
Joel Michael Reynolds
joel.reynolds@emory.edu
BA Philosophy, Religious Studies, Robert D. Clark Honors College, University of Oregon, 2009
Research Interests: 19th & 20th Century Continental Philosophy, Philosophy of Disability, Bioethics
View Profile
 
Stephanie Rodgers
srodge5@emory.edu
BA Philosophy and Neuroscience, Vanderbilt University, 2008
Research Interests: American pragmatism, feminist theory, phenomenology, digital identity, intersubjectivity
View Profile
 
Whitney Ronshagen
whitney.ronshagen@emory.edu
BA Philosophy (English Literature minor), Trinity College, 2014
Research Interests: 20th Century Philosophy, Phenomenology, Feminist Philosophy, Existentialism, Ethics
View Profile
 
Sara Saba
sara.anne.saba@emory.edu
BA Philosophy and Literature, University of New Mexico, 2012
MA Philosophy, State University of New York at Stony Brook (SBU), 2015
Research Interests: Embodiment, Trauma Theory, Ethics, 19th and 20th Century Continental
View Profile
 
Reuben Sass
reuben.gabriel.sass@emory.edu
MA Bioethics, Case Western Reserve University
BA, Case Western Reserve University
Research Interests: Bioethics, Phenomenology, 20th Century Social and Critical Theory
View Profile
 
Aaron Shepherd
aaron.pratt.shepherd@emory.edu
MA Philosophy, Emory University, 2016
MA Philosophy, University of Oregon, 2012
BA Literature, Pacific University, 2009
Research Interests: Philosophy of Religion, American Pragmatism and Idealism, Liberation Theology
View Profile 


Christopher Slover
cslover@emory.edu
BA Liberal Arts, St. John’s College, NM (2016)
Research Interests: Metaphysics, Modern Philosophy, Ancient Philosophy, German Idealism, Philosophy of Theatre
View Profile
 
Rebekah Spera
rebekah.spera@emory.edu
BA Philosophy & Literature, Bennington College, 2009
Research Interests: Critical Theory, German Idealism, 19th Century Philosophy, Social/Political Philosophy
View Profile


Jordan Stewart-Rozema
j.m.stewart-rozema@emory.edu
BA Philosophy, The Evergreen State College, 2011
Research Interests: Philosophy of Education, Virtue Epistemology, Care Ethics
View Profile

Betty Stoneman
betty.jean.stoneman@emory.edu
BA Philosophy (Minors in Ethics, Peace and Justice Studies), Utah Valley University, 2015
Research Interests:
Intersections between Social and Political, Feminism, Marxism, Ethics, and Existentialism
View Profile

Kyle Tanaka
kyle.takeshi.tanaka@emory.edu
MA Philosophy, Stony Brook University, 2016
BA Philosophy, CSU Stanislaus, 2014
Research Interests: Late 19th century/early 20th century Continental philosophy
View Profile

Samuel Timme
stimme@emory.edu
MA Philosophy, Emory University, 2012
BA Philosophy & French, Creighton University, 2008
Research Interests: Political Philosophy, Ethics, 20th Century Continental, Ancient Greek & Roman, History of Philosophy
View Profile

Jason Walsh
jason.philip.walsh@emory.edu
MA Philosophy, Miami University of Ohio, 2017
BA Philosophy and Computer Science (African-American Studies minor), Case Western Reserve University, 2015
Research Interests: Frankfurt School, Marxism(s), Social and Political Philosophy, 19th and 20th Century Continental Philosophy
View Profile

Andrea Warmack
andrea.dionne.warmack@emory.edu
View Profile

Sarah Warren
slwarre@emory.edu
MA Theory & Criticism, Western University, 2015
BA Cultural Studies (Specialization in Writing & Narrative, Minor in Philosophy), 2011
Research Interests: Phenomenology, Metaphysics, Environmental Ethics
View Profile

Carlos Zorrilla
carlos.zorrilla@emory.edu
MAS Peace Studies and Conflict Resolution, 2013, Basel University, Switzerland
BA Philosophy, 2011, Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Mexico (UNAM)
Research Interests: Metaphysics, Ancient Philosophy (esp. Plato), Neoplatonism, German Idealism and German Romanticism (esp. Schelling)
View Profile