Student Directory

EMORY DEPARTMENT WEBSITE GRADUATE STUDENT DIRECTORY

Jadon Adams
jadon.adams@emory.edu
MA Philosophy, KU Leuven, 2020
BA Philosopgy, KU Leuven, 2018 
Research Interests: Phenomenology, Critical Phenomenology, Frantz Fanon, Psychoanalysis, Critical Philosophy of Race
View Profile
 
Owen Alldritt
owen.alldritt@emory.edu
MA Philosophy, The New School for Social Research, 2014 
BA Philosophy, Carleton College, 2012
Research Interests: Ethics, Social and Political Philosophy, 19th- and 20th-Century European Philosophy, Pragmatism
View Profile


Bernardo Andrade
bandrad@emory.edu
BA Philosophy, Middlebury College, 2018
Research Interests: 20th-Century Continental Philosophy, Ethics, Emmanuel Levinas, Neoplatonism
View Profile


Rachel Bath
rachel.lee.barbara.bath@emory.edu
MA Theory & Criticism, University of Western Ontario, 2016
BA Philosophy and Women’s Studies, University of Western Ontario, 2014
Research Interests: Phenomenology, Feminist Philosophy; Issues in Philosophy of Emotion and Theories of Interiority
View Profile


Joe Benavides
joseph.santiago.benavides@emory.edu
MA Philosophy, SUNY Stony Brook, 2012
BFA Cinematography, University of North Carolina School of the Arts
Research Interests: Marxism, historical materialism, hope, utopianism. Hegel. Aesthetics (esp. photography)
View Profile


Tirza Ben-Ezzer
tirza.ben-ezzer@emory.edu
BA 
Research Interests: 
View Profile

Benjamin Brewer
benjamin.brewer@emory.edu
MA Philosophy, University of Oregon, 2015
BA Philosophy, Pacific University, 2013
Research Interests: 19th and 20th c. Continental, Aesthetics, Philosophy of Memory, History of Philosophy, Ethics, Classical Islamic Philosophy, William Faulkner
View Profile

Shouta Brown
shouta.brown@emory.edu
MA Philosophy, Miami University, 2015
BA Philosophy, Western Kentucky University, 2013
Research Interests: Aesthetics (esp. Humor), Social and Political Philosophy, Modern Philosophy
View Profile

Jason Cabitac
jason.exar.cabitac@emory.edu
MTS Theological Studies, Boston University, 2019
BA Religious Studies, Naropa University, 2016
Research Interests: Philosophy of History, Philosophy of Religion, Art & Poetry, German Idealism and Romanticism, Classical American Pragmatism, Schelling, Heidegger   
View Profile

Mara Cayarga
mara.cayarga@emory.edu
BA 
Research Interests: 
View Profile


Michael Chiddo
michael.chiddo@emory.edu
MA Philosophy, Stony Brook University, 2015
BA Philosophy and Political Science, Hunter College, 2008
Research Interests: Social and Political Philosophy, Ethics, 20th Century Continental Philosophy, Nietzsche
View Profile


Sarah Fayad
sarah.fayad@emory.edu
MA Philosophy, University of New Mexico, 2015
BA Philosophy, University of New Mexico, 2011
BA English, University of New Mexico, 2011
Research Interests: Continental Philosophy, Phenomenology, Philosophy of Embodiment, Social-Political Philosophy, Ethics
View Profile


David Ferris
david.ferris@emory.edu
MA Humanities and Social Thought, New York University, 2013
BA Social Studies, Harvard University, 2006
Research Interests: Social-Political Philosophy, American Pragmatism, Law, Democratic Humility
View Profile


Taina Figueroa
tfiguer@emory.edu
BA Philosophy, Trinity College, 2012
Research Interests: Critical Philosophy of Race, Latinx Philosophy, Latin American Philosophy, Caribbean Philosophy, Phenomenology, Existentialism
View Profile


Catherine Fullarton
cfullar@emory.edu
MA Philosophy, Ryerson University, 2013
BA Contemporary Studies & History, University of King’s College, 2010
Research Interests: Ethics (esp. Virtue Ethics), 20th Century Continental (esp. Phenomenology), Ancient Philosophy (esp. Aristotle), Philosophy of Emotions.
View Profile


Allison Garippa
allison.garippa@emory.edu
BA Philosophy & Political Science, Honors Program, Villanova University, 2019
Research Interests: Ancient Philosophy, Kantian and Post-Kantian Philosophy, Phenomenology
View Profile


Bradford Gladstone
bradford.louis.gladstone@emory.edu
BA Philosophy, Haverford College, 2018
Research Interests: Philosophy of Race, Value Theory, Political Philosophy, Philosophy of Perception
View Profile


Grace Goh
shuang.goh@emory.edu
BA Philosophy, DePaul University, 2015
BA Psychology, DePaul University, 2015
Research Interests: Metaphysics, Philosophical Psychology, Asian Philosophy, Bergson, Freud, David Lewis; the relation between time/temporality and the self/subjectivity
View Profile

Noah Gounoue
noah.gounoue@emory.edu
BA 
Research Interests: 
View Profile

Scholastique Iradukunda
scholastique.iradukunda@emory.edu
BA 
Research Interests: 
View Profile


Rylie Johnson
ryan.johnson2@emory.edu
MA Philosophy, Boston College, 2017
BA Philosophy, UNC Asheville, 2014
BA Political Science, UNC Asheville, 2014
Research Interests: Heidegger, German Idealism, Marxism and 20th century Continental Philosophy
View Profile


Leah Kaplan
leah.kaplan@emory.edu
MA African American Studies, Northwestern University, 2020
MA Philosophy and Art, Stony Brook University, 2017
Research Interests: Black Critical Theory, Caribbean Philosophy, Phenomenology, Time, Black Ecology
View Profile


Molly Kelly
molly.elizabeth.kelly@emory.edu
MA Public Policy, Philosophy, and Social Policy, George Washington University, 2018
BA Political Science, Boston University, 2015
Research Interests: Critical Phenomenology, Trauma Studies, Feminist Philosophy, Social-Political Philosophy, Psychoanalysis
View Profile


Yuchen Liang
yuchen.liang@emory.edu
BA Philosophy, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, 2017
BA German Studies, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, 2017
Research Interests: Heidegger, Phenomenology, Kyoto School, Chan(Zen) Buddhism
View Profile


Teelin Lucero
teelin.dia.lucero@emory.edu
BA Philosophy, Colorado College, 2016
Research Interests: Decolonial philosophy, Heidegger, Philosophy of Race, Latinx Philosophy
View Profile

Patrick Pender
patrick.pender@emory.edu
MA Philosophy, Duquesne University, 2020.
AB Government, Harvard University, 2017.
Research Interests: Psychoanalysis (esp. Lacan), German Idealism (esp. Hegel), Marxism, 20th century French philosophy.
View Profile

Gabriela Puche
gabriela.puche@emory.edu
View Profile


Belen Pueyo-Ibanez
belen.pueyo.ibanez@emory.edu
MA Philosophy, The New School for Social Research 
Graduate Diploma in Contemporary Art History, Goldsmiths University of London 
BA Journalism, Universitat Pompeu Fabra
BA Music (Specialization in Violin Performance), Escola Superior de Música de Catalunya
Research Interests: Ethics, Epistemology, Moral Epistemology, Social and Political Philosophy, 20th Century Philosophy, Pragmatism
View Profile


Whitney Ronshagen
whitney.ronshagen@emory.edu
BA Philosophy (English Literature minor), Trinity College, 2014
Research Interests: Continental Philosophy, Critical Phenomenology, Feminist Philosophy, Ethics, Philosophical Psychology, Philosophy of Food
View Profile

Sara Saba
sara.anne.saba@emory.edu
MA Philosophy, State University of New York at Stony Brook (SBU), 2015
BA Philosophy and Literature, University of New Mexico, 2012
Research Interests: Philosophical Psychology, Trauma Theory, Philosophy of Psychology/Psychiatry, Ethics, Bioethics 
View Profile

Everet Smith
everet.smith@emory.edu
BA 
Research Interests: 
View Profile


Christopher Slover
cslover@emory.edu
BA Liberal Arts, St. John’s College, 2014 
Research Interests: Kant, 20th Century (European) Philosophy, Aesthetics and Art Criticism (esp. Philosophy of Theatre), History of Philosophy, German Idealism, American Pragmatism
View Profile

Morinade Jayla Stevenson
mstev27@emory.edu
Research Interests: Black Feminism, Decolonial Feminisms, Black Aesthetics (film and literature), 20th Century Continental Philosophy
View Profile

Betty Stoneman
betty.jean.stoneman@emory.edu
MA Philosophy, Emory University, 2019
BA Philosophy (Minors in Ethics, Peace and Justice Studies), Utah Valley University, 2015
Research Interests: 19th and 20th Century Continental, Social and Political Philosophy
View Profile


Kyle Tanaka
kyle.takeshi.tanaka@emory.edu
MA Philosophy, Stony Brook University, 2016
BA Philosophy, CSU Stanislaus, 2014
Research Interests: Late 19th century/early 20th century Continental philosophy (esp. Nietzsche, Kierkegaard, Heidegger), hermeneutics, philosophies of categorization and organization
View Profile

Ana Vieyra
avieyra@emory.edu
BA Philosophy, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM), 2019
Research Interests: 19th and 20th Century Continental Philosophy
View Profile

Jason Walsh
jason.philip.walsh@emory.edu
MA Philosophy, Miami University of Ohio, 2017
BA Philosophy & Computer Science (African-American Studies minor), Case Western Reserve University, 2015
Research Interests: Frankfurt School, Marxism(s), Social and Political Philosophy, 19th and 20th Century Continental Philosophy
View Profile

Andrea Warmack
andrea.dionne.warmack@emory.edu
BA Philosophy, Hunter College, 2017
Research Interests: Black Feminist Philosophy (specifically Intersectionality, Erotics, and Liberation), (Critical) Phenomenology, Blues, Black Literature (specifically: Baldwin, Hansberry, Lorde, Morrison, and Walker), 20th Century Continential Philosophy
View Profile

Sarah Warren
slwarre@emory.edu
MA Theory & Criticism, Western University, 2015
BA Cultural Studies (Specialization in Writing & Narrative, Minor in Philosophy), 2011
Research Interests: American Pragmatism, Metaphysics, New Materialism, Environmental Ethics
View Profile

Daniel Westbrook
daniel.michael.westbrook@emory.edu
MA Philosophy, University of Oregon, 2018
BA Philosophy, Northern Arizona University, 2016
Research Interests: Philosophy of Race (esp. Black Philosophy and Mixed Race), Feminist Philosophy, Decolonial Philosophy, Pragmatism, Phenomenology and Critical Phenomenology, Existentialism, Ethics
View Profile


Teague Wiebe
twiebe@emory.edu
MA Philosophy, University of Oregon, 2019
BA Philosophy, University of Portland, 2015
BA French Studies, University of Portland, 2015
Research Interests: Pragmatism, Existentialism, Phenomenology, Social and Political Philosophy, Philosophical Psychology
View Profile