Student Directory

Owen Alldritt
owen.alldritt@emory.edu
MA Philosophy, The New School for Social Research, 2014
BA Philosophy, Carleton College, 2012
Research Interests: Ethics, American Philosophy, 19th and 20th-Century European Philosophy
View Profile

Bernardo Andrade
bandrad@emory.edu
BA Philosophy, Middlebury College, 2018
Research Interests: 19th and 20th-Century European Philosophy, Phenomenology, Philosophy of Religion, Emmanuel Levinas
View Profile

Rachel Bath
rachel.lee.barbara.bath@emory.edu
MA Theory & Criticism, University of Western Ontario, 2016
BA Philosophy and Women’s Studies, University of Western Ontario, 2014
Research Interests: Phenomenology and Critical Phenomenology; especially topics in metaphysics of time, philosophies of emotion, and philosophies of embodiment
View Profile

Joe Benavides
joseph.santiago.benavides@emory.edu
MA Philosophy, SUNY Stony Brook, 2012
BFA Cinematography, University of North Carolina School of the Arts
Research Interests: Marxism, historical materialism, hope, utopianism, Hegel, aesthetics (esp. photography)
View Profile

Benjamin Brewer
benjamin.brewer@emory.edu
MA Philosophy, University of Oregon, 2015
BA Philosophy and English Literature, Pacific University, 2013
Research Interests: 20th c. Continental, Medieval (Christian and Islamic), German Idealism, Descartes; Questions of history and historicity, materiality, theology, and representation
View Profile

Shouta Brown
shouta.brown@emory.edu
MA Philosophy, Miami University, 2015
BA Philosophy, Western Kentucky University, 2013
Research Interests: Aesthetics (esp. Humor), Social and Political Philosophy, Modern Philosophy
View Profile

Jimmy Callahan
james.callahan@emory.edu
BA Philosophy, DePaul University, 2014
Research Interests: Romanticism, Idealism, Philosophy of Science
View Profile
 
Michael Chiddo
michael.chiddo@emory.edu
MA Philosophy, Stony Brook University, 2015
BA Philosophy and Political Science, Hunter College, 2008
Research Interests: Social and Political Philosophy, Ethics, 20th Century Continental Philosophy, Nietzsche
View Profile
 
Andrew Culbreth
andrew.james.culbreth@emory.edu
BA Philosophy, Vassar College, 2012
Research Interests: Ancient Greek and Roman Philosophy, especially Ancient Ethics; Moral Psychology and Moral Philosophy; Philosophy of Science; History of Philosophy
View Profile
 
Jordan Daniels
jordan.leah.daniels@emory.edu
MA Philosophy, New School for Social Research, 2012
BA Philosophy, Eugene Lang College The New School for Liberal Arts, 2009
Research Interests: Aesthetics, German Idealism, Critical Theory
View Profile
 
Benjamin Davis
benjamin.palmer.davis@emory.edu
BA Philosophy, University of North Dakota, 2016
BA International Studies, University of North Dakota, 2016
Research Interests: Ethics, De-colonial philosophy, Pragmatism, Simone Weil, Edouard Glissant
View Profile

Sarah Fayad
sarah.fayad@emory.edu
MA Philosophy, University of New Mexico, 2015
BA Philosophy, University of New Mexico, 2011
BA English, University of New Mexico, 2011
Research Interests: Continental Philosophy, Phenomenology, Philosophy of Embodiment, Philosophy of Emotion, Social-Political Philosophy
View Profile

David Ferris
david.ferris@emory.edu
MA Humanities and Social Thought, New York University, 2013
BA Social Studies, Harvard University, 2006
Research Interests: Social-Political Philosophy, American Pragmatism, Law, Democratic Humility
View Profile

Taina Figueroa
tfiguer@emory.edu
BA Philosophy, Trinity College, 2012
Research Interests: Critical Philosophy of Race, Latinx Philosophy, Latin American Philosophy, Caribbean Philosophy, Phenomenology, Existentialism
View Profile
 
Catherine Fullarton
cfullar@emory.edu
MA Philosophy, Ryerson University, 2013
BA Contemporary Studies & History, University of King’s College, 2010
Research Interests: Phenomenology, Temporality, Intersubjectivity, History of Philosophy
View Profile

Bradford Gladstone
bradford.louis.gladstone@emory.edu
BA Philosophy, Haverford College, 2018
Research Interests: Philosophy of Race, Value Theory, Political Philosophy, Philosophy of Perception
View Profile

Grace Goh
shuang.goh@emory.edu
BA Philosophy, DePaul University, 2015BA Psychology, DePaul University, 2015
Research Interests: Metaphysics, Asian Philosophy, Bergson, Freud, David Lewis; the relation between time/temporality and the self/subjectivity
View Profile

Katherine Howard
k.b.howard@emory.edu
BA Philosophy with Honors, Vassar College, 2012
Research Interests:
Social-Political Philosophy, Feminist Theory, democratic theory, human rights, Hannah Arendt
View Profile

Rylie Johnson
ryan.johnson2@emory.edu
MA Philosophy, Boston College, 2017
BA Philosophy, UNC Asheville, 2014
BA Political Science, UNC Asheville, 2014
Research Interests: Heidegger, German Idealism, Marxism and 20th century Continental Philosophy
View Profile

Molly Kelly
molly.elizabeth.kelly@emory.edu
MA Public Policy, Philosophy, and Social Policy, George Washington University, 2018
BA Political Science, Boston University, 2015
Research Interests: Critical Phenomenology, Trauma Studies, Feminist Philosophy, Political Philosophy
View Profile

B. Tamsin Kimoto
bkimoto@emory.edu
MA Philosophy, Loyola Marymount University, 2014
BA Philosophy, Northern Arizona University, 2012
Research Interests: Trans* Studies, Philosophy of Gender and Race, Critical Phenomenology, Asian American Studies, Foucault
View Profile

Lilyana Levy
lilyana.levy@emory.edu
BA with Honors, Philosophy, Vassar College 2011
Research Interests: Feminist philosophy, ethics, philosophy of medicine, bioethics, affect theory, disability studies
View Profile

Tony Leyh
tony.leyh@emory.edu
BA Philosophy (Italian minor), Eckerd College, 2013
Research Interests: Ancient Philosophy (esp. Plato and Aristotle), Ethics, History of Philosophy
View Profile

Yuchen Liang
yuchen.liang@emory.edu
BA Philosophy with honors, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, 2017
BA German Studies, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, 2017
Research Interests: Heidegger, Phenomenology, Kyoto School, Zen Buddhism
View Profile

Jorge Lizarzaburu
jlizarz@emory.edu
MA Philosophy, University of New Mexico, 2016
MA Communication, University of Colorado Boulder, 2012
BA Journalism, USFQ (Quito, Ecuador), 2010
Research Interests: Social and Political philosophy (esp. Hegel and  Marx), Ethics, Evolutionary theory, Philosophy of evolution
View Profile
 
Margaret Matthews
m.l.matthews@emory.edu
BA Liberal Arts, St. John’s College MD, 2014
Research Interests: Early Modern Philosophy, Renaissance Philosophy, Montaigne, Skepticism, History of Philosophy
View Profile
 
Christopher Merwin
christopher.merwin@emory.edu
MA Philosophy, New School for Social Research, 2014
BA Philosophy, Religious Studies (Classics minor), Boston University, 2000
Research Interests:
Metaphysics (esp. Time), Phenomenology (esp. Heidegger), Ancient Philosophy, Modern Philosophy (esp. Kant), Philosophy of Science
View Profile
 
Joevenn Neo
joevenn.neo@emory.edu
BA Philosophy, DePaul University, 2015
Research Interests: Non-Philosophical Aesthetics and Practices, Indifference in Ancient Chinese Philosophy, Shamanic Receptivity in Medieval Philosophy
View Profile
 
Lucilla Pan
lucilla.pan@emory.edu
BA Philosophy, Boston College, 2014
Research Interests: 19th Century Philosophy, Ethics, Philosophy of Religion
View Profile
 
Roshni Patel
rnpate3@emory.edu
BA Philosophy, History from the University of Texas at Austin, 2009
Research Interests: Heidegger, Indian Buddhist Philosophy, Response Ethics, 20th Century Continental Philosophy
View Profile
 
Belen Pueyo-Ibanez
belen.pueyo.ibanez@emory.edu
MA Philosophy, The New School for Social Research
Graduate Diploma in Contemporary Art History, Goldsmiths University of London
BA Journalism, Universitat Pompeu Fabra
BA Music (Specialization in Violin Performance), Escola Superior de Música de Catalunya
Research Interests: Pragmatism, Ethics, Aesthetics
View Profile
 
Omar Quinonez
omar.quinonez@emory.edu
BA Philosophy, University of Colorado Denver, 2012
BA History, University of Colorado Denver, 2012
BA Political Science, University of Colorado Denver, 2012
Research Interests: German idealism, esp. Hegel and Schelling, Marx and marxism, critical theory, social theory, 19th century philosophy, 20th century continental philosophy
View Profile
 
Whitney Ronshagen
whitney.ronshagen@emory.edu
BA Philosophy (English Literature minor), Trinity College, 2014
Research Interests: Critical Phenomenology, Affect Theory, Feminist Philosophy, Philosophy of Food, Ethics, Continental Philosophy
View Profile
 
Sara Saba
sara.anne.saba@emory.edu
BA Philosophy and Literature, University of New Mexico, 2012
MA Philosophy, State University of New York at Stony Brook (SBU), 2015
Research Interests: Philosophical Psychology, Ethics, Trauma and Embodiment
View Profile
 
Christopher Slover
cslover@emory.edu
BA Liberal Arts, St. John’s College, NM (2016)
Research Interests: Metaphysics, Modern Philosophy, Ancient Philosophy, German Idealism, Philosophy of Theatre
View Profile
 
Rebekah Spera
rebekah.spera@emory.edu
BA Philosophy & Literature, Bennington College, 2009
Research Interests: Critical Theory, German Idealism, 19th Century Philosophy, Social/Political Philosophy
View Profile

Jordan Stewart-Rozema
j.m.stewart-rozema@emory.edu
BA Philosophy, The Evergreen State College, 2011
Research Interests: Philosophy of Education, Virtue Epistemology, Care Ethics
View Profile

Betty Stoneman
betty.jean.stoneman@emory.edu
BA Philosophy (Minors in Ethics, Peace and Justice Studies), Utah Valley University, 2015
Research Interests: Intersections between Social and Political, Feminism, Marxism, Ethics, and Existentialism
View Profile

Kyle Tanaka
kyle.takeshi.tanaka@emory.edu
MA Philosophy, Stony Brook University, 2016
BA Philosophy, CSU Stanislaus, 2014
Research Interests: Late 19th century/early 20th century Continental philosophy
View Profile

Sitar Terrass-Shah
sitar.perry.terrass-shah@emory.edu
BA Philosophy, Wesleyan University 2017
Research Interests: Social and Political Philosophy, Post/Decolonial Studies, Critical Philosophy of Race
View Profile

Samuel Timme
stimme@emory.edu
MA Philosophy, Emory University, 2012
BA Philosophy & French, Creighton University, 2008
Research Interests: Political Philosophy, Ethics, 20th Century Continental, Ancient Greek & Roman, History of Philosophy
View Profile

Jason Walsh
jason.philip.walsh@emory.edu
MA Philosophy, Miami University of Ohio, 2017
BA Philosophy and Computer Science (African-American Studies minor), Case Western Reserve University, 2015
Research Interests: Frankfurt School, Marxism(s), Social and Political Philosophy, 19th and 20th Century Continental Philosophy
View Profile

Andrea Warmack
andrea.dionne.warmack@emory.edu
BA Philosophy, Hunter College, 2017
Research Interests: Phenomenology, Feminist Philosophy (Womanism), Black Literature, Pleasure
View Profile

Sarah Warren
slwarre@emory.edu
MA Theory & Criticism, Western University, 2015
BA Cultural Studies (Specialization in Writing & Narrative, Minor in Philosophy), 2011
Research Interests: Phenomenology, Metaphysics, Environmental Ethics
View Profile

Daniel Westbrook
daniel.michael.westbrook@emory.edu
MA Philosophy, University of Oregon, 2018
BA Philosophy, Northern Arizona University, 2016
Research Interests: Philosophy of Race (esp. Black Philosophy and Mixed Race), Feminist Philosophy, Decolonial Philosophy, Pragmatism, Phenomenology and Critical Phenomenology, Existentialism, Ethics
View Profile

Carlos Zorrilla
carlos.zorrilla@emory.edu
MAS Peace Studies and Conflict Resolution, 2013, Basel University, SwitzerlandBA Philosophy, 2011, Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Mexico (UNAM)
Research Interests: Metaphysics, Ancient Philosophy (esp. Plato), Neoplatonism, German Idealism and German Romanticism (esp. Schelling)
View Profile